Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for March 12th, 2009

Choice choices

A whole evening with nothing on my to do list. This hasn’t happened in so so long.  I really don’t know what to do with myself. I almost feel like going on a 2 hour walk to nowhere, with a milk tea and my music…however its 10pm. And while Taipei is incredibly safe, getting lost at night is alot more iffy than getting lost in the middle of the day.

I’ve recently been longing for giant open spaces and endless lawns. Grass…I want to stick my bare feet in grass. Daan park might suffice this weekend. Please don’t rain Taiwan. Please don’t rain.

Ear food acquired recently:

more Raconteurs
more Death Cab
more Stars
Black Kids
Ratatat
Vetiver
Hot Chip
Cut Copy
Okkervil River
Fleet Foxes
MGMT
Jay Chou

We made cookies at work yesterday…in a toaster oven. It had not been tested and the receipe was all over the place. Ivy had initially handed me a box of flan mix and some waffle mix and asked if I could make cookies with either of those….Um…no. In fact, the look on my face made her laugh…I was just picturing flan cookies …it did not compute. The cookies we did make however were…edible…and really hideous. But since none of my students actually know what real cookies taste and look like they were perfectly content to eat their own creation. (Here they frequently refer to crackers as cookies..and things that are considered cookies are usually wafers, or crackers and icing….oreos may be as close as you can possibly get to traditional cookies)

Backing up in time, I went on my first scooter ride last week. Just down the street to Raohe to get some beef noodles. I was surprisingly nervous. After watching people zooming by on scooters for months and months and being very jealous from my seat on the slow bumbling bus, all of a sudden I was there, myself, on the back of a scooter, zooming along; cutting between cars and down side alleys.

It was fun, and I demand more rides. I’ve been promised a trip to elephant mountain by William (the english name of the one success in the “jens miserable attempts to date asian boys saga”) to take photographs as well, so maybe we can combine the two.

Tina made beef stew the other night for dinner…heavenly.

Now? Curling up with the Magus and a highlighter. Writing books is so satisfying. I think it proves that you love them more than a casual browsing or read through. I love second hand books with notes.

“We were equally tired in mid-century, of cold sanity and hot blasphemy; of the over-cerebral and the over-faecal; the way out lay somewhere else. Words had lost their power, either for good or for evil; still hung, like a mist, over the reality of action, distorting, misleading, castrating; but at least since Hitler and Hiroshima they were seen to be a mist, a flimsy superstructure.”

“simply the complex, ambiguous sadness of the darkening room. The light had drained out of the sky, it became rapid dusk. All the treacheries of modern love seemed beautiful, and I had my great secret, safe, locked away. It was Greece again, the Alexandrian Green of Cavafy; there were only degrees of aesthetic pleasure; of beauty in decadence. Morality was a North European lie. “

Read Full Post »